Ask Your Question
0

I think the port should not be deleted when the interface is detched,if the port is created independently.

asked 2013-06-17 02:26:21 -0500

Hi:

I created a port,attached the interface to a VM,and then detached the interface from the VM.I found that the port was deleted.

I think the port should not be deleted when the interface is detched,if the port is created independently.

Thank you.

edit retag flag offensive close merge delete

5 answers

Sort by ยป oldest newest most voted
0

answered 2013-06-17 15:43:01 -0500

armando-migliaccio gravatar image

Currently there is no distinction between a port created explicitly by a user or admin and a port created by the infrastructure (in this case Nova), so all ports are equal and disposed of when the resource that is using it is destroyed (in this case a VM).

I think it is fair to create a bug report and mark the bug as wishlist or opinion to see what people think about this particular issue.

edit flag offensive delete link more
0

answered 2013-06-27 22:07:39 -0500

armando-migliaccio gravatar image

They just help provide a little more context.

edit flag offensive delete link more
0

answered 2013-06-17 08:41:42 -0500

keith-tobin gravatar image

I would also post this in the quantum quantum section.

edit flag offensive delete link more
0

answered 2013-06-17 09:35:35 -0500

I view the codes.

In the method nova.compute.manager.ComputeManager.detach_interface(),the method nova.network.quantumv2.api.API.deallocate_port_for_instance() is called where the port is deleted.

def deallocate_port_for_instance(self, context, instance, port_id, conductor_api=None): try: quantumv2.get_client(context).delete_port(port_id) except Exception as ex: LOG.exception(_("Failed to delete quantum port %(port_id)s ") % locals())

This may be the problem.

edit flag offensive delete link more
0

answered 2013-06-27 22:07:01 -0500

armando-migliaccio gravatar image

I believe the bug reports above are somewhat related to the issue we are seeing here, i.e. the port gets deleted when the VM is destroyed.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Your Answer

Please start posting anonymously - your entry will be published after you log in or create a new account.

Add Answer

Get to know Ask OpenStack

Resources for moderators

Question Tools

1 follower

Stats

Asked: 2013-06-17 02:26:21 -0500

Seen: 59 times

Last updated: Jun 27 '13