Ask Your Question

Revision history [back]

Yes, this is correct behavior. The OpenStack Dashboard has two roles today, Admin and a user role. An admin has view over the entire cloud, and can be a user also and a part of multiple projects. So if an admin switches a project the admin tab will go away until he switch back to the Admin project. If you create users, you can lock them to one or more projects again a user can be a member of one or many projects. The users can only see what is in their project.

At the command line if you authenticate as the admin you should see the same privileges, if you go download the the rc file for a project (logged in as a user), source the file to login, you should only get command line access to the projects the user has access to.

Lastly, in Glance if you go to Images option on the dashboard, you should see 3 options at the top, My images, images shared with me, public images. If you click to Public images from a project you can see all public images in the system. Also a user can upload an image and make it public to all users.

Yes, this is correct behavior. The OpenStack Dashboard has two roles today, Admin and a user role. An admin has view over the entire cloud, and can be a user also and a part of multiple projects. So if an admin switches a project the admin tab will go away until he switch back to the Admin project. If you create users, you can lock them to one or more projects again a user can be a member of one or many projects. The users can only see what is in their project.

At the command line if you authenticate as the admin you should see the same privileges, if you go download the the rc file for a project (logged in as a user), source the file to login, you should only get command line access to the projects the user has access to.

Lastly, in Glance if you go to Images option on the dashboard, you should see 3 options at the top, My images, images shared with me, public images. If you click to Public images from a project you can see all public images in the system. Also a user can upload an image and make it public to all users. users in the system. The other option is protected, this means no one can delete the image until its unprotected.